Southington Police Department

Chief John F. Daly
Address 69 Lazy Ln
Southington CT 06489
Phone 860-378-1600
Fax 860-378-1699



The Southington Police Department was organized in 1936. It is governed by a Board of Police Commissioners, consisting of five civilian members. It is commanded by the Chief of Police, Deputy Chief of Police, three Lieutenants, five Master Sergeants, nine Sergeants, and seven Detectives. It is currently comprised of seventy sworn regular and twelve sworn supernumerary officers plus twenty-two civilian personnel, including two Animal Control Officers. Southington is geographically located almost in the center of the State of Connecticut. The Department is primarily responsible for the public safety of the approximately 43,000 residents of the community and patrolling the roads within our 36.5 square miles.


The Mission of the Southington Police Department is to protect and serve the community, in addition enforce laws and ordinances, provide information and/or direction to people in need and to promote a feeling of safety and security for all members of the community. The Southington Police Department will work in cooperation with the community to preserve and improve the quality of life, making the Town a safer, more pleasant place to live, work, and visit.

Our mission is public service and we are proud of it.


Edward F. Geary was appointed the first police chief in Southington in 1927 and remained head of the department through June, 1954. He was succeeded by Robert Triano who retired April 1, 1979.  Chief Triano remained as a consultant for three months. In August of 1979, Joseph Sollack was appointed chief.  Chief Sollack retired in February of 1983 and Phillip D'Agostino became Southington's fourth chief.  Chief D'Agostino retired in April of 1991 and William B. Perry was appointed Acting Chief.  In August of 1991, William B. Perry formally became Southington's fifth chief of police.  On March 2nd 2002, Chief William B. Perry retired.  On October 10th, 2002 John F. Daly was promoted to Chief to become Southington's sixth Chief of Police.

Before the Town of Southington officially sponsored a police force in 1927, the department was managed by seven elected constables. The elected constables in the 1925-26 fiscal year were Thomas Murphy, Timothy J. Foley, Graham R. Thompson, Sampson Smith, Lewis W. Bowers, Randall B. Fish
and Daniel Douglass.

Background Personal History Documents

This page may contain sensitive information. Please securely destroy any printouts of this page.
© 2010 - 2024 All rights reserved.
Law Enforcement & Police Officer Recruitment Within the Southington CT Police Department.  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Mobile Site